Connect with us


UPDATED: Anxiety Mounts In Delta As PDP Screening C’ttee Issues “Provisional Clearance” To 13 Guber Aspirants, Receives 6 Petitions



Rivers Assembly

Anxiety has continued to mount in Delta state as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) South-South Governorship Screening Committee, issued “provisional clearance” to twelve governorship aspirant vying for the party’s ticket in the forthcoming primaries.

Although the screening committee headed by Bayelsa State governor, Senator Douye Diri, was yet to officially release the list of the screened and cleared aspirants, report in Niger Delta Today indicates that six petitions have been received against the governorship aspirants who were cleared to participate in next month’s primaries of the PDP in Delta.

BIGPENNGR.COM reports that it was not clear which of the aspirants was petitioned but the development has jostled and shaken the political atmosphere as the undercurrent political game where gladiators are moved to undo each other in the race to clinch the party’s ticket seem to have started playing out in the state.

The petitions would be consider for investigation when the Senator Diri-led Governorship Screening Committee submits its report to the National Executive Committee (NEC) at the party’s national secretariat, even as the Governorship Appeal Panel is expected to commence sitting on Tuesday in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.


Those cleared for the governorship primary election slated for May 21, 2022, include; a former Minister of State for Education, Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi; Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Chief Sheriff Oborevwori; former Principal Secretary to Late President Musa Yar’Adua and former Chief of Staff, Olorogun David Edevbie; Senator James Manager, representing Delta South and Deputy Governor of Delta State, Deacon Kingsley Otuaro.

Others are former Delta State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Peter Adogbejire Mrakpor (SAN); former commissioner for Housing, Olorogun Fred Majemite; Managing Director of Wellmann Group, Deacon Chris Iyovwaye; former Sapele Council Chairman, Omizu Ejaife Odebala, Uvwie-born politician, Sir Onajefe-Gift Bright Edejewhro; Mr. Lucky Ohworode Idike and Chief Abel Oghenevo Esievo and former commissioner of Agriculture, Chief Braduce Angozi.


Click to comment