Connect with us


JUST IN: Gov Oborevwori Appoints 20 Special Advisers, Seeks Assembly’s Approval



Delta state Governor, Rt.Hon Sheriff Oborevwori,has appointed 20 Special Advisers to serve in his administration.

BIGPEN NIGERIA ( reports that the Governor’s request to appoint the 20 Special Advisers was conveyed in a letter reads at plenary by the Speaker, Rt.Hon. Emomotimi Gowor.

Governor Oborevwori, in his message to the Assembly, highlighted that the request aligns with sections 196, sub-sections one to three of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended.

He expressed his gratitude for the Assembly’s prompt consideration of the request and emphasized that the Special Advisers would play a crucial role in advancing the administration’s development agenda.

BIGPEN NIGERIA reports that the Governor is expected to name the appointees and their portfolio in the days ahead following the approval by the state assembly.


In a separate session on Tuesday, the House conducted the screening and confirmation of nominees for appointment to the Delta State Advisory Council on the Prerogative of Mercy.

These nominations were submitted by Governor Sheriff Oborevwori last week.

The Majority Leader, Hon Emeka Nwaobi, moved the motions for the screening and subsequent confirmation during the plenary presided over by Speaker Emomotimi Guwor.

The nominees, whose appointments were confirmed, include retired Justices Celestina Ogisi as Chairman, Prof Louis Ojogwu, Alexander Neyin, Dr Iris Jewo Ibi, Augustine Eseagwu, Festus Onyaeju, and Mrs. Uju Rosaline Monye.

Speaker Emomotimi Guwor, who chaired the House Committee overseeing the screening process, commended the members for their thoroughness and congratulated the appointees on their well-deserved positions.


Governor Oborevwori, in the letter conveying the names of the nominees, stated that the appointments were necessary due to the expiration of the previous council’s tenure.

He clarified that his authority to make these appointments stemmed from Section 3, subsections 1 and 2 of the Advisory Council on the Prerogative of Mercy Law 2016.

Click to comment