Connect with us


Oborevwori Reconstitutes Delta Board Of Internal Revenue, Appoints Former Assembly Member, Igrakpata As Chairman



Hon Solomon Igrakpata, the immediate past member representing Uvwie State Constituency, has been nominated, along with other candidates, for appointment to the Board of Internal Revenue Services (DIRS) in Delta State.

The announcement was made through a letter addressed to the Delta State House of Assembly, in which Governor Sheriff Oborevwori submitted the names of the nominees for consideration during Tuesday’s plenary session.

The Speaker of the House, Rt Hon Emomotimi Dennis Guwor, revealed the list of nominees, with Hon Solomon Ighrakpata, the former Deputy Chief Whip of the Delta State Assembly who represented the Uvwie constituency, appointed as the Chairman.


Additionally, four others were named as Executive Directors: Mr Frank Nwaugo for Operations, Kelly Oghenekevwe for Finance and Administration, Collins Iwebunor for ICT and Corporate Development, and Hon Orezi Esievo for Legal Services.

Governor Oborevwori explained that these nominations were necessary due to the expiration of the previous board’s tenure. He cited the authority granted to him by Section 5, Subsection 2, and Section 6, Subsection 1 of the Delta State Board of Internal Revenue Service Law, 2020 as the basis for these appointments. The Governor stressed the urgency for the House to promptly consider and confirm the nominees, allowing him to proceed with the appointments in compliance with the law.

Responding to the Governor’s request, Speaker Emomotimi Guwor instructed the nominees to submit thirty-five copies of their curriculum vitae to the House Clerk by Monday, July 17, 2023. Furthermore, the nominees were scheduled to undergo screening on Tuesday, July 18, 2023.


During the plenary session, the House successfully screened and confirmed the appointment of Honorable Justice Ngozi Catherine Ojugbana-Orishedere as the President of the Customary Court of Appeal, Delta State.

The Majority Leader, Hon Emeka Nwaobi, presented the motions for screening and confirmation, which received unanimous support from the House.

The Speaker extended congratulations to Justice Ojugbana-Orishedere on her appointment and commended the members for their meticulous screening process.


Accompanied by the State Chief Judge, Justice Dia, and several senior judges from the state, Justice Ngozi Catherine Ojugbana-Orishedere appeared before the House for the screening exercise.

The session took place in the Hallow Chamber and was presided over by Speaker Rt Hon Emomotimi Guwor in the Committee of Whole. Governor Oborevwori had previously submitted Justice Ojugbana-Orishedere’s name to the House for screening and potential confirmation on the preceding Tuesday.

Click to comment