Connect with us


2023: ‘Don’t Fight Dirty’ – Group Urges Urhobo-born Delta Guber Gladiators



  • Hails Emergence Of All-Urhobo Candidates In APC, PDP, SDP, APGA, ADC, AA 

The group, Oja R’Urhobo 2023, has urged governorship candidates of the various political parties in the Delta state to  ensure that their political campaigns are devoid of acrimony, divisiveness, and treachery.

The group made the call in a statement on Wednesday apprising the outcome of the governorship primaries conducted by the various political parties in the state.

According to the group, the emergence of Urhobo-born Deltans in Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the All progressive Congress (APC), the Social Democratic Party (SDP), the All progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and the Action Alliance Party (AA), was a confirmation that it was indeed the turn of Urhobo ethnic nationality to produce the next governor of the state.

The statement reads; “We congratulate the winners of the various Governorship primaries across the political parties, particularly Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborewvori of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ovie Omo-Agege of the All progressive Congress (APC), Chief Kenneth Gbagi of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Chief Great Ogboru of the All progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Comrade Efe Ekure of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) Mr. Jenkins Duvie Gwede of the Action Alliance Party (AA) and the flagbearers of other parties that have also concluded their primaries. Indeed, “Our slogan of Urhobo Y’Oteri has been achieved”.

“We commend the candidates for their passion, dedication, and commitment through the primaries. Indeed, your emergence as the flagbearers of your parties demonstrates your belief and interest in the progress of our dear state.

“Delta State needs transformational leaders and as you progress towards the electioneering campaigns, we appeal to you to consider the salient matters of governance such as Economic Progress, Poverty Alleviation, Power, Infrastructure, Education, Technology, Tourism and Youth Empowerment. These are critical success factors
and should take centre stage with clear strategies and implementation plans for our dear State.

“The Urhobo culture is deeply rooted in respect for elders, oneself and for others. We therefore appeal to you to conduct your campaigns in a manner devoid of acrimony, divisiveness, and treachery.

“As candidates, we call on you to eschew all forms of violence and acts that will encourage any form of dehumanization or dirty fights which could lead to major security crisis in our peaceful state.

“We call on political leaders and stakeholders to pay special attention to their actions and inactions during this season. We must work together for peace and tranquility and to de-escalate any tension in the State.

“We commend the courage, sportsmanship and maturity displayed by other aspirants who participated in the primaries and urge them to continue to support the democratic process. We urge those who are victorious to be magnanimous in victory and close ranks with their fellow colleagues in other to project a united front towards the main elections.

“We urge Deltans, Civil society and democratic process to be vigilant to ensure that all votes at the main elections are counted and that all votes count in Delta State 2023.

“We urge all stakeholders to place common interest above personal interest. We must commit to upholding virtues that will sustain our democracy and advance the cause of good governance, peace and sustainable development”.

The Oja R’Urhobo 2023 is a strategic group of Urhobos comprising Urhobo traditional leaders, professionals and intellectuals and a conglomeration of Urhobo associations with the objective of ensuring that an Urhobo of Delta Central becomes the Governor of Delta State in 2023.

The statement was signed by Mr. Emmanuel E. Okotete, Chief Francis Ifie, Olorogun Edoreh Agbah, Chief Dr. Cecilia Ibru, Dr. Peter Igho, Mr. Abraham Ogbodo, Olorogun (Prof.) Joseph Abugu, SAN, Olorogun Miranda Mosheshe, Prof. Sunny Awhefeada, Mr. Ovie Oghenekaro, Mr. Bruno Sobotie, Olorogun Fidelis Odia, Mr. Vwede Jeff Obahor.

Others are Mr. Joshua Oweibo FCA, Engr. Akpojotor Okiti, Mr. Charles Money, Blessing Dan-Egua, Engr. Dr. Emmanuel Audu, Mr. Ighoruemu Oduaran, Mr. Uhrorho Koyoyo and Dr. Benson Uwheru.

Continue Reading
Click to comment