Connect with us


Buhari, Osinbajo Shun APC’s NEC Meeting As Ganduje Emerges Party’s National Chairman



Caption: •Ajibola Basiru (L) and Abdullahi Ganduje (R)

Former President Muhammadu Buhari and former Vice President Yemi Osinbajo were conspicuously absent the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on Thursday, where former Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, was elected as the National Chairman of the party.

The first National Chairman of the party, Bisi Akande, was however, present.

The NEC meeting followed Wednesday’s session of the APC national caucus.

The party’s NEC also elected former Senate spokesman, Ajibola Basiru, from Osun State as National Secretary.

The two party officials were elected today at the 12th NEC meeting of the party held at the Congress Hall of Transcorp Hilton in Abuja.


Addressing party leaders after his emergence, Ganduje thanked the President and promised that internal democracy would prevail in the party during his tenure.

The ex-Kano governor pledged to ensure a scientific register of party members and pay utmost attention to election management and conflict resolution.

According to him, there would be level playing field for all party members during party primaries.

Ganduje promised to hit the ground running to ensure victory for the party in all forthcoming governorship elections across the country,

President Bola Tinubu, Vice President Kashim Shettima, members of the Progressive Governors’ Forum, chieftains of the party in the National Assembly, amongst others were present were present at the NEC meeting.


Addressing the 12th NEC of the party, the President said the APC has won the elections and it is now time to deliver the promises of good governance to the Nigerian people.

The President insisted that the 2023 elections was the best election in Nigeria’s history.

Mid-July, two members of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) resigned. Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Senator Iyiola Omisore resigned as the party’s National Chairman and National Secretary respectively.

(Channels TV, excluding headline

Click to comment