Connect with us


Delta 2023: Pro-Edevbie Group, DUG Inaugurates BOT, NEC Ahead Of Campaigns



The members of the Delta Unity Group’s Board of Trustees, National Executive Council, and local government coordinators have been sworn in ahead of the general election campaigns.

The Delta Unity Group is a David Edevbie-supporting group affiliated with the Delta State Peoples Democratic Party.

Over 1000 participants from the state’s 25 local government councils attended the event hosted by Sir Itiako Ikpokpo, a former chairman of the Delta Association of Local Government of Nigeria (ALGON), on Wednesday in his Uro country home in the Isoko South local government area of Delta state.

While the group acknowledged that they were ardent PDP supporters, they asserted that Olorogun David Edevbie has the skills and ability to guide the state toward greater prosperity. They expressed confidence in his ability to prevail at the Supreme Court as the PDP candidate for governor.

Speaking at the occasion, Hon. Chiedu Ebie, a former secretary to the state government, assured that Edevbie’s lawyers had carefully reviewed the Court of Appeal’s decision before filing 23 grounds of appeal at the Supreme Court and were confident that the court would uphold substantial justice in the case.


He urged the crowd to stay upbeat and to stick to the Edevbie mandate, saying that while there might be some anxious moments, the truth will always win out.

“In the case of Bayelsa PDP, they won at the High Court, lost at the Appeal Court and won at the Supreme Court. It was the same in the Ebonyi case where Odii won at the High Court, lost at the Appeal and also won at the Supreme Court. David Edevbie’s case is on the same trajectory.” 

Rt. Hon. Peter Onwusanya serves as the National Executive Council’s chairman, and Comrade Michael Akpobire serves as its secretary.

The other members are Rt Hon Monday Igbuya, Vice Chairman of Delta Central; Rt Hon Olisa Imegwu, Vice Chairman of Delta North; Hon Evance Ivwurie, Deputy Chairman; Rt Hon Daniel Reyeineju, Vice Chairman of Delta South; and Rt Hon Daniel Reyeineju, Vice Chairman of Delta North.

Others include Sunny Areh, publicity secretary; Hon. Stanley Odali, national assistant secretary; Hon. Fred Ofume, treasurer; Barrister Robinson Ariyo, legal adviser;


Comrade Isaiah Ingo, a youth leader, Chief Florence Ayomanot, a woman leader, and Hon. Godwin Ejinyere, the organizing secretary, is among the other leaders.

Prof. Pat Muoboghare, Chief Morrison Olori, Dr. Isaac Akpoveta, Chief Giwa Amu Theodora, Arch. Joe Iroro, Rt. Hon. Tams Brisibe, Rt. Hon. Mercy Almona Ise, Pastor Champion Kpateghe, and Pastor John Greatman Chukwuka make up the BOT.

Click to comment