Saturday, May 15Penning issues that shape nations...

Court Adjourns DESOPADEC 13 Percent Case Again After 90 Days Judgment Deadline Elapsed

A High Court sitting in Warri, Delta state has again adjourned the lawsuit concerning the appropriation of the 50% of the 13% oil derivation fund accruing to the Delta state Government.

BigPen Online recalls that the court had earlier in 10th April 2018 adopted final written addresses on the over N300billion law suit instituted against Delta state Government by oil producing communities in the state and adjourned to 10th May for judgment.

But before the adjournment date, the presiding judge reportedly travelled abroad for official assignment with the case not assigned to another judge, thus the 90 days stipulated by law for delivering of Judgment became stalled.

BigPen Online however learnt on Wednesday that the judge who has resumed sitting on the case, for technical reason that the judgment had stayed for 105 days stepped down the ruling and urged both counsel to the matter to agree for another date for the readoption of the written addresses before judgment on or before 31st when courts are expected to go on vacation in Delta State.

The case which was instituted in 2014 with Suit No: HCY/16/2014 during the tenure of immediate past governor, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan and former State Assembly Speaker, Rt Hon Victor Ochei had unnecessary long adjournments with about four different judges sitting over it under the period.

BigPen Online learnt that the current judge handling the case is the fourth among the series of judges who have sat over the matter.

The case was instituted by former PDP but now APC chieftain, Chief Godwin Ogbetuo and former Secretary of Traditional Rulers of Oil Mineral Producing Communities of Nigeria, (TROMPCON), Prince Maikpobi Okareme, Comrade Prince Kpokpogri and Akakasi Oghenejabor Sunday who are the principal claimants for themselves and on behalf of oil producing communities of Delta state.

The Executive Governor of Delta state, the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, the Attorney General of the state as well as Accountant General of Delta state are the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th defendants respectively.