Amalgamation house in Ikot Abasi, Akwa Ibom State, is now literally a ghost house – ruined and tattered.
BIGPEN understands the house was likely where the union between Northern and Southern Nigeria was cemented in 1914.
However, 107 years after, the house that hosted the amalgamation of Nigeria as one entity, stands abandoned after that historic moment.
Multiple reports say it’s the building in which Lord Lugard signed the law that brought about the amalgamation of the Northern and Southern Protectorates of Nigeria in 1914.
Harold Benson, a lawyer and author, who sometimes ago visited Ikot Abasi Local Government in Akwa Ibom state, to explore the old residence of Lord Lugard, the first Governor-General of Nigeria, had painted a picture that appear like the ghost of Lugard was the only thing left in the Amalgamation House.
The yarn has other historical monuments like the colonial cemetery, the first overhead water tank, 1929 Women Riot status, ‘Bridge of No Return’ and others, all in Cross River State, that have remained abandoned.
But most notably abandoned is the Amalgamation House, which has its zinc roof gone rusty and broken, with its windows and doors fallen apart and weeds taking over the once lush lawns.
Sadiq A. Abdullahi, an adjunct professor of global education and curriculum development and improvement at Florida International University in Miami, Florida, USA, recently made some comment about the historic house which was reechoed by social critics and former member of Federal Government’s Technical Committee on Niger Delta, Mr. Tony Uranta, on his Facebook page.
“Even Lord Lugard whose picture still adorn the building will regret in his grave that his name is associated with Nigeria”, he added.