BREAKING: Ahmed Lawan Elected As New Senate President 

Senator Ahmed Lawan has been elected as new Senate president after a 79 to 28 landslide victory over Senator Ali Ndume.

The Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori who presided over the exercise announced that a total of 107 Senators-elect took part in the election.

Lawan was the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Candidate for the position while Ndume, also of APC, got the late backing of the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The election was the highlight of the inauguration of the ninth National Assembly in Abuja, the Nigerian capital.